Election SpecialFocus North EastNewsNews Bulletin

Assam records vigorous turnout in third phase nearly 79%

Voting is underway in third and final phase of assembly elections in Assam. 40 seats out of Assam’s 126 constituencies were voted on t .

Among the key candidates during this phase are Himanta Biswa Sarma from Jalukbari, Assam BJP president Ranjit Dass at Paracharkuchi senior AIUDF leader Aminul Islam from Mankachar, senior Congress leader Rekibuddin Ahmed from Chaygaon, senior BPF leaders Chandra Brahma from Sidli and Pramila Brahma from Kokrajhar East.

The Congress alliance’s prospects are closely tied to the consolidation of Muslim and Bodo votes, besides the anti-incumbency against BJP on the difficulty of unemployment and price rise.

There are 79,19,641 voters in phase three, of which 40,11,539 males, 39,07,963 females and 139 transgenders. The seats are spread across 12 districts including three in the Bodoland Territorial Region.

Related posts

Mahanangram 2019: Priyanka active on Twitter after Gandhinagar rally

Riaan Desk

Assembly elections: Process of making panel of BJP candidates starts

Riaan Desk

Several mosques covered with white Cloth during Ganesh procession in Hyderabad

Riaan Desk