Election SpecialFeaturedNewsNews Bulletin

The YSR Congress of Jagan Mohan Reddy sweeps the local body elections in Andhra Pradesh

The Yuvajan Sramika Rythu (YSR) Congress, led by Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy, has won the local body elections in Andhra Pradesh, according to the results released on Sunday. According to the most recent statistics, the party has won over 90% of Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituencies (MPTCs) and a whopping 99 percent of Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituencies (ZPTCs).
On April 8, elections were held for 515 ZPTCs and 7,220 MPTCs. The findings were supposed to be announced on April 10th. However, based on petitions filed by the Telugu Desam Par, the Andhra Pradesh High Court halted the counting.
The opposition alleged that the mandatory Model Code of Conduct period was not taken into consideration from the date of announcement of the poll schedule.
The counting of ballots was eventually approved by a split bench of the High Court on Thursday.
The YSR Congress had gained 547 ZPTCs out of 553 for which the results had been released as of 7.30 p.m. on Sunday. The figure in MPTCs was even more impressive: 7,284 seats out of a total of 8,083.
In the recent elections, the YSR Congress, which was established only a decade earlier, gained up to 74 of the state’s 75 municipalities and nagar panchayats, as well as all 12 municipal corporations.
In the general elections of 2019, the party won 151 out of 175 Assembly seats and 22 out of 25 Lok Sabha seats.

Related posts

Hyderabad police arrest KCR’s party leader for molesting a 10-year-old girl

Riaan Desk

Lachit Barphukan’s 400th Birth Anniversary, Orang Police’s Unique Initiative

Riaan Desk

Gajwel war zone: KCR hopes to power 2nd term

Riaan Desk