Election SpecialINDIANews

Congress decides names of candidates in four seats

Congress will contest Lok Sabha elections on their own. Declining the coalition with the Aam Aadmi Party, the party has decided the names of the candidates in four Lok Sabha seats. In the meeting of the Central Election Committee on Thursday, there was a consensus on the names of candidates in Chandni Chowk, New Delhi, North-West Delhi, North-East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. However, the pitch has been stuck on East Delhi, West Delhi and South Delhi Lok Sabha seats. Party sources say that the formal announcement of the names of candidates will be announced in seven Lok Sabha seats shortly.

The party is once again going to bet on its old face in the three Lok Sabha constituencies. Congress Central Election Committee has expressed confidence in former Chandni Chowk MP Kapil Sibal, Ajay Makan from New Delhi, JP Agarwal from North East Delhi and former Rajkumar Chauhan from North West Delhi. However, its official announcement has not yet been made.

According to party sources, former MP Sandeep Dikshit on East Delhi seat, former MP Mahabal Mishra in West Delhi seat and former MP Ramesh Kumar, former minister Arvinder Singh Lovely and Pawan Kheda in South Delhi Lok Sabha constituencies were also discussed. The party is also confused about the name of Ramesh Kumar from South Delhi. In fact, Ramesh Kumar’s brother Sajjan Kumar’s name was given ticket to Ramesh Kumar due to his involvement in 84 riots. Even after becoming a MP, Ramesh Kumar was not much active and Sajjan Kumar continued to run.

On the other hand, Sandeep Dikshit, son of state Congress chief Sheela Dikshit, from East Delhi has already refused before contesting. After the election committee meeting, PC Chacko in-charge PCC said that there was a detailed discussion on the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi. The Congress party will release the official list of candidates for seven seats soon.

Related posts

Mizoram Elections results: MNF take away power from Congress in Mizoram

Riaan Desk

Modi tells lies on progress: Kavitha

Riaan Desk

Telangana Budget 2023-24: Rs 2.90 lakh crore budget presented in the assembly

Riaan Desk