INDIANews BulletinRiaan News

Triple Triumph: Modi Takes Oath for Third Term, Equals Nehru’s Historic Record

Delhi: Today marks a historic moment as Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi is set to take the oath for a third consecutive term as the head of a coalition government. With this, he climbs up the list of Indian Prime Ministers by the length of term, equaling the feat of Jawaharlal Nehru who won the 1952, 1957, and 1962 general elections.

Recently, Modi also entered the list of Prime Ministers with terms exceeding 10 years, along with Nehru, Indira Gandhi, and Manmohan Singh. As we look at the list of Prime Ministers and their lengths of terms, it is evident that Modi has served a total of 10 years and 13 days in office. However, this victory has come with a below-par performance by the BJP in the Lok Sabha polls, as their seat tally dropped to 240 from 303. Despite this, Modi has retained power and remains one of the longest-serving Prime Ministers in Indian history.

As we reflect on the political landscape in India, we can see that the Indian National Congress party holds the record for the most number of Prime Ministers and total years in office. It will be interesting to see how Modi leads the country in his third term and what changes he brings to continue his legacy as a strong and influential leader.

Related posts

Mizoram Elections results: MNF take away power from Congress in Mizoram

Riaan Desk

Jana Sena-BJP leaders met Chandrababu Naidu at Undavalli residence

Putta Suman

Andhra Pradesh Municipal Elections 2021: Counting underway, results today

Riaan Desk